It’s Time! Reveal Time that is!

Last October I decided I needed to lose weight and joined Weight Watchers.  My goal was to lose 55 lbs  before I turned 55.  Well that time has come and gone.  I almost achieved that goal.  I actually lost 47 lbs, but I’m still very very proud of that loss.  I worked hard, but maybe I could have worked harder, but they say if you don’t reward yourself sometimes the weight you lose for is a life change not just a diet.  So  you need to reward yourself from time to time to achieve your goal!  So I exercise and ate right – all fruits and veggies all the power foods.  I’m not giving up…I’m going all the way.  I’m hitting the chart of what I should weight for my height.  I have 22 more lbs to lose.

There were times in my life that my weight gain had bothered me.  Even though I am a working woman and out in the public all day long it didn’t bother me (all the time that is).  As each year passed by and  I was gaining more weight I kept telling myself that I was maintaining and was getting older and was getting the secretary spread (cause I sit all day long at a desk) that I was fine with it and it didn’t bother me UNTIL I had special events in my life and I had to dress up for.

Also, last spring it happened.  I couldn’t get up as easily after bending down weeding.  Gardening was getting harder and harder for me.  One day as the phone was ringing I tried to run to get it.  I couldn’t run!  OMG these 2 events alone scared the hell out of me.  No gardening and couldn’t run.  I knew this was a sign that I needed to do something big time and really quick.

So I thought I would document 4 events in my life and compare that look to the 4 new looks I have going on right now. Of course I have tons of photos that I hate and would scare you to death if I showed you, so I narrowed it down to just 4 life events.  I won’t show you any of my skinny photos from years and years ago cause they were far and few between.  One picture that I can’t find that I just loved was a skinny picture of me after I had my son and finally lost all the weight was of me in my Jordache designer  jeans with a plaid shirt and a white vest.  I had gotten that outfit as a birthday present and I wore it all the time….so sad that I can’t find that picture.

1st picture is of me and my sisters at my son’s wedding in 1998.  I had to buy a size 18 and could barely stuff my boobs in the shirt.  We had a ball that night, but I always wanted to look as comfortable dressed up as my sisters always do.  Here I am even taller than them and still bigger.

Plus I was tnot only the biggest but also the tallest so I had to stand down the curb.

Ta Da same outfit different year.  Went from an 18 to a 10!  Love it!

 

My black and white outfits that I have many, but feel so much better in the new me.

Lela and me at the fair.  God I was huge.

 Grandma and Lela.  She’s almost 8 yrs old and I turned 55 in August.  This year it feels great cause I feel great!

This picture is from my 50th birthday.  I was out gardening and my family surprised me with a party, food and all.  My son, Chris, got me my first cell phone that year.  You can tell I just wanted to skip that birthday all together.

This picture is right after my 55th birthday!  Made Chris take a picture early in the morning when I dropped off the kids.  Yes, that is my new car!

This my friends is the new and improved ME!  I can’t believe I have beat my last addiction in life and that is overeating and not being healthy.  I will continue my journey to reach my goal of 140lbs  at 5’4″ tall.  This will make me a lifetime member with Weight Watchers.  I’ve learned so much regarding maintaining this weight and I hope this means I will have a happy and heathy life as I age.

When I look in the mirror and catch my reflection I still giggle cause it is not only my weight loss, but also all that hair.  Anyone that knows me hasn’t seen my hair that long in 30 years, so as I struggle to come up with a hair style I will continue to grow it long till I figure out what I am going to do with it.  An idea will come soon!

So I must say turning 55 this year was so easy for me.   I am enjoying life!

4 thoughts on “It’s Time! Reveal Time that is!

  1. I have always loved the OLD YOU….but I am sooooooooooooo happy for the NEW ME!!!! Good job and continued success my dear sister!

  2. You look AMAZING! I am so happy for you! Not only do you look great, but you can just see the happiness pouring out of you! I love you so much! Hope to see your skinny ass soon! 😉

  3. WOW Girl!

    You are awesome! You have and will continue to feel great. You have gotten the” Feeling of Health” now, and you wouln’t to lose it! I give you so much respect for keeping on with Weight Watchers! It truely is the number one way of life!

    You look wonderful!

    Jenny

  4. HEY PENNY YOU LOOK FANTASTIC!!!! CONGRATS!!!! YOU GO GIRL, YOU ARE AN INSPIRATION TO ALL OF US! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!
    Di & TERRY

Leave a Reply

